21 August 2020

Miller Johnson Attorneys Recognized as Best Lawyers 2021

Miller Johnson announced today that forty-seven (47) attorneys are recognized in the 2021 edition of The Best Lawyers in America®.

Ten (10) Miller Johnson attorneys are lauded as the Lawyer of the Year in their respective practice area. Additionally, four (4) attorneys are on the inaugural Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch list. The Best Lawyers in America® is an annual guide identifying the top attorneys and law firms in the United States.

Here are the Miller Johnson attorneys recognized as 2021 Best Lawyers®:

  • Kathleen Hogan Aguilar
  • Jeffrey S. Ammon
  • Maxwell N. Barnes
  • Mary V. Bauman
  • Frank E. Berrodin
  • Robert D. Brower
  • James C. Bruinsma
  • David M. Buday
  • Gary A. Chamberlin
  • Tony Comden
  • Karen J. Custer
  • Erik R. Daly
  • Dustin J. Daniels
  • Keith E. Eastland
  • Christopher L. Edgar
  • James A. Ens
  • William H. Fallon
  • Jeffrey J. Fraser
  • David J. Gass
  • Richard E. Hillary II
  • Kenneth G. Hofman
  • Peter J. Kok
  • John F. Koryto
  • Craig H. Lubben
  • Raj A. Malviya
  • Jon G. March
  • Lauretta K. Murphy
  • Jeffrey G. Muth
  • Robert W. O’Brien
  • Daniel P. Perk
  • James R. Peterson
  • Peter H. Peterson
  • John T. Piggins
  • Nathan D. Plantinga
  • Andrew Portinga
  • Michael B. Quinn
  • Mark E. Rizik
  • Stephen R. Ryan
  • Alan C. Schwartz
  • Eric R. Starck
  • Julie A. Sullivan
  • Mary L. Tabin
  • Catherine A. Tracey
  • Matthew L. Vicari
  • Sarah K. Willey
  • Robert D. Wolford

Lawyer of the Year for 2021 was awarded to these ten attorneys:

  • Jeffrey S. Ammon:  Banking & Finance Law and Land Use & Zoning
  • Karen J. Custer:  Real Estate Law
  • Erik R. Daly:  Securities / Capital Markets Law
  • William H. Fallon:  Labor Law – Management
  • Craig H. Lubben:  Litigation – Labor & Employment
  • Raj A. Malviya:  Trusts and Estates
  • Andrew Portinga:  Insurance Law
  • Michael B. Quinn:  Family Law
  • Mark E. Rizik:  Litigation and Controversy – Tax
  • Julie A. Sullivan:  Family Law

Best Lawyers – Ones To Watch is a new distinction in 2021 reserved for attorneys in their first 10 years of practice. The Miller Johnson attorneys recognized are:

  • Justin M. Bratt:  Health Care Law
  • Ryan P. Duffy:  Health Care Law
  • Stephen J. van Stempvoort:  Commercial Litigation
  • Tripp VanderWal:  Health Care Law

Miller Johnson attorneys are recognized for practice areas that directly correlate with the work the firm does for clients.  The areas include:

  • Corporate Law as well as specialized areas of Tax Law, Mergers and Acquisitions Law, Real Estate Law, Employee Benefits Law and Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Employment Law – Management and related areas of Labor Law – Management, Litigation – Labor and Employment and Immigration
  • Litigation areas – including Bet-the-Company, Commercial Litigation, Mediation, Appellate Practice, Insurance and Trade Secrets
  • Private Client matters such as Trusts and Estates (including litigation)

Miller Johnson is a full-service firm providing legal counsel to businesses and individuals in business and corporate, employment and labor, litigation, employee benefits, and estate planning.

# # #